$0.00 | 0

Helen C. Escott

Helen C. Escott is an award-winning, bestselling Canadian author and playwright. Before becoming an author, she had a ten-year career in radio and TV. In 1998 she joined the Royal Canadian Mounted Police as Senior Communication Strategist. She began writing books full-time in 2014 upon her retirement.

Described as a prolific writer, she has written seven novels and one play. Two novels from her operation crime thriller series have been short-listed for the Crime Writers of Canada’s best first crime novel award and won the Silver Medal – Best Regional Fiction at the 24th annual Independent Publisher Book Awards.

Escott is a retired Civilian Member of the RCMP and was the communications lead on high-profile events including the RCMP’s Newfoundland response to the September 11th terrorist attacks.  She wrote and implemented the Atlantic Region Communication Strategies to combat organized crime and outlaw biker gangs, created a media relations course, and taught it in several provinces as well as at the Canadian Police College, Ottawa. She also served as a communications strategist at the 2010 Vancouver Olympics.


2017 -The CLB Governor and Commandants Medallion in recognition of her achievements of excellence in volunteering and fundraising work.

2019 - Governor Generals Sovereign’s Medal for Volunteers.

2021 - Veterans Ombud Commendation Lifetime Contribution Award.

2022 - Certificate of Recognition from the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador to honour her work and dedication to Veterans.

Helen C. Escott web page https://www.helencescott.com/

Novels written by Helen C. Escott:

Operation Masonic: (Flanker Press) The Mason’s Most Worshipful Grand Master is murdered. His body is laid out in the ritualistic Chamber of Reflection at the Masonic Temple surrounded by centuries of secrets.  RNC Insp. Nicholas Myra and Cst. Donna Whiffen dig through thousands of years of history, secrets, scandals, and symbols in a hunt for the killer. A search that leads them back to the Temple of Solomon and the first Masonic murder.  Rumours of hidden tunnels under churches and buildings in the center of old St. John’s leads to an unbelievable treasure hunt in the heart of the Ecclesiastical Circle that a lot of people would kill for. This is the historical backdrop to Helen C. Escott’s engrossing and well-researched new novel, Operation Masonic. This gripping thriller is exceedingly clever and compellingly truthful.

Operation Wormwood: Book one Duology (Flanker Press) A top five finalist for the 2019 Arthur Ellis Awards, Best First Crime Novel, by the Crime Writers of Canada. The first novel in the operation series, this crime thriller was published in August 2018. It was on Indigo’s bestsellers list from August to December 2018 and remains a strong seller.

The Reckoning: Book Two Duology (Flanker Press) On the Day of Reckoning, everyone is called to account for their actions. The bestselling conclusion to Operation Wormwood. With her razor-sharp writing and inside police knowledge, Helen C. Escott delivers a fast-paced, dark, and ingeniously plotted thriller that confirms her status as one of the hottest Canadian crime thriller authors.

Operation Vanished: (Flanker Press) Was awarded a Silver Medal – Best Regional Fiction at the 24th annual Independent Publisher Book Awards. It was released in August 2019.

Operation Trafficked: (Flanker Press) In her most thrilling novel to date, bestselling, award-winning author Helen C. Escott takes you on a lightning-paced, chillingly current, criminal investigation that is surprising at every twist and completely unpredictable right up to its astonishing conclusion.

In Search of Adventure- 70 Years of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police in Newfoundland and Labrador: (Flanker Press) Named one of the top memoirs in Atlantic Canada it took two years of research and interviewing Veterans to put together this comprehensive collection of personal stories.

The Wormwood Duology: (Flanker Press) Operation Wormwood is a sensational murder mystery set in St. John’s, Newfoundland, and Operation Wormwood: The Reckoning is the shocking, adrenaline-fuelled finale, both written by bestselling author Helen C. Escott.

I am Funny Like That: (Engen Books) This is the author’s memoir of personal stories and anecdotes exploring the funny side of life. The book consists of laugh-out-loud, humorous short observational essays based on Escott’s life as a mother, wife, and crime writer.

*author photo by Oliver Whiffen

facebook linktwitter link

Related Products

Flanker Press Ltd Operation Wormwood
Operation Wormwood
Flanker Press Ltd Operation Vanished
Operation Vanished
Flanker Press Ltd Operation Wormwood: The Reckoning
Operation Wormwood: The Reckoning
Flanker Press Ltd Operation Trafficked
Operation Trafficked
Flanker Press Ltd Operation Masonic
Operation Masonic
Flanker Press Ltd The Wormwood Duology
The Wormwood Duology
Flanker Press Ltd Operation Series Box Set
Operation Series Box Set
Flanker Press Ltd We Will Meet Again
We Will Meet Again

About Flanker Press
Turning pages since 1994

Flanker Press is a bright spark in the Newfoundland and Labrador publishing scene. As the province’s most active publisher of trade books, the company now averages twenty new titles per year, with a heavy emphasis on regional non-fiction and historical fiction.

The mission of Flanker Press is to provide a quality publishing service to the local and regional writing community and to actively promote its authors and their books in Canada and abroad.

Now located in Paradise, Flanker Press has grown from a part-time venture in 1994 to a business with eight full-time employees. In the fall of 2004, Flanker Press launched a new imprint, Pennywell Books. This imprint includes literary fiction, short stories, young adult fiction, and children’s books.

Flanker Press Ltd.
Unit #1 1243 Kenmount Road, Paradise, NL              A1L 0V8

TF: 1.866.739.4420

Tel: 709.739.4477

Fax: 709.739.4420

The Latest
Always something new


No Events today. Check back tomorrow.

10 May, 2024
Flanker Press and Rink Rat Productions are excited to announce that the Operation book series by Helen C. Escott has been optioned for film and television!
02 Apr, 2024
Change to shipping rates for retail accounts, and local deliveries
02 Feb, 2024
Love Our Local Authors Month - February 2024

Send us your manuscript

Please review our following guidelines for submitting fiction and non-fiction manuscripts to be considered for publication.


We acknowledge the financial support of the Government of Canada through the Canada Book Fund (CBF) and the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, Department of Tourism, Culture and Recreation for our publishing activities.

We acknowledge the support of the Canada Council for the Arts, which last year invested $157 million to bring the arts to Canadians throughout the country. Nous remercions le Conseil des arts du Canada de son soutien. L’an dernier, le Conseil a investi 157 millions de dollars pour mettre de l’art dans la vie des Canadiennes et des Canadiens de tout le pays.